Three go-to barbecue knives

The Three Barbecue Knives

Any great barbecuer has their absolute favorite go-to knives. ¬†Having the right barbecue knife enables you to make large cuts around and through bones, accurately trim fat, and slice your finished product without ruining your hard-earned bark. My go-to barbecue knives come down to three knives: A classic chef’s knife, slicing knife, and a boning knife.

The Classic: Chef’s knife

When it comes to a chef’s knife for barbecue I don’t have a real preference. I don’t rely on it for most of the work and as long as it’s sharp it seems to work fine. I mostly use my chef’s knife for making large cuts though the meat. It’s my go-to knife for separating rib tips from the St. Louis cut pork ribs. My Chef’s knife came from the knife set that my wife and I received as a gift. However, if you’re looking to buy a great chef’s knife America’s Test Kitchen¬†recommends the 8″ Victorinox Fibrox Pro Chef’s Knife.

The Work Horse: Boning Knife

When it comes to finding a quality barbecue boning knife, take the time and find one that is high quality and that you like! This will become your work horse, as you will use it to most of the trimming of any of your cuts. It’s thin and is just slightly flexible so that you can trim thin layers of silver skin or fat without butchering the meat.

For my boning knife I took the advice from America’s Test Kitchen and went with the 6″ Fibrox Pro Boning Knife with flexible Blade. I ordered mine from Amazon and have loved it since! The handle is a little bit thicker, but the material of the plastic is a huge plus! Last thing you want is a knife to slip out of your hand. Like I said, this knife is my work horse and I’d use it everyday if I had a piece of meat to cut!

The Favorite: The Slicing Knife

The slicing knife is probably my favorite barbecue knives. These things are thin and sharp. Mine will slice through rib meat like it’s butter. Not only is this great for preserving the hard-earned bark you’ve been spending hours on, it also makes for a great show for your guests. Nothing says pro like pulling out a 12 inch knife and slicing through a piece of meat like it’s butter. The show will leave your guests wowed and your slices of meat flawless.

Mine is yet a again another America’s Test Kitchen recommendation, the 12 inch Victorinox Fibrox Pro Slicing knife. I paid $54.99 for mine, however, I just looked on Amazon and it’s $63.48. I’ll tell you what though, I think it’s well worth the price you pay. Not only is it a quality knife, it helps you produce a quality product. Another great feature is the Granton blade. These are little divots on the edge of the blade, these divots help prevent the meat from sticking to your blade so that when you slice a piece of meat, slice falls off to the side.

My Parting Thought on Barbecue Knives

As you start your hopefully prosperous journey with barbecuing, you’ll notice that you will want to start to get the best gear. My advice, let it happen! Obviously don’t go blowing you’re whole pay check on barbecue knives and other barbecue tools, but I would say buy quality. You get what you pay for. If you buy one of these barbecue knives and you take care of it, it will last you years!

 

Leave a Reply

